School of Rock – Day 11 – Collaboration and Growth – Part 1

SUMMARY

I taught the class about three frames of motivation through Ayurveda. I also lyricized a poem my friend created. 

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

  • My friend, an aspiring writer, made a poem about his own experience with pushing content on the interwebs. I asked if it was okay if I turn it into a lyric for a song, and he accepted my offer.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • Jake Lizzio’s The Music Theory of POWER CHORDS
  • Screenshot from Jake Lizzio’s The Music Theory of POWER CHORDS video at YouTube
  • SongExploder.net episodes
  • Holistic Songwriting’s Artist Series
  • Genius’ Songs Deconstructed Series
  • Rick Beato’s What Makes This Song Great Series
  • I watched SongExploder episode for the Sparks and Arlo Parks. Sparks discusses writing an unconventional song through storytelling. They had a story (a guy has a thing for a flight attendant and that made him fantasize about being a WW2 bomber) and worked from there, pulling out lyrics that elicit an emotional response. For Arlo Parks, she discusses the suicidal thought and depression of her friend and specifically elaborates on how she used her words sparsely (much like the lack of emotion for people suffering from depression) and how much she’d like to help her. I personally relate to that, as I’ve had friends talk about their depression or experiences with other mental illnesses. Every time I wished that I could just hug them and make their problems disappear.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I realized that you can make songs about heavy topics, and it lessened the embarrassment I’ve been feeling with my creative process. 

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

I was happy to contribute something to the class. I think it was very worthwhile for my classmates, and I hope it left a great impression as the video did on me. 

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I really like turning poems into songs! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *