School of Rock – Day 5 – Rhythm Basics

SUMMARY

The rhythm is very important, but it’s also the most overlooked. See how you can create your own!

CLASSROOM

How Rhythm Works (47 minutes)

Cuban rhythm has inspired modern music, enough for the connection to be forgotten.

Adding in new instruments slowly (pieces) can have an amazing effect, much like how PJ creates his music.

LAB

Drum Arrangements Made Simple

Arranging Drums in Hookpad

Advanced Drum Arrangements in Hookpad

big events generally have big fills, while small events have smaller fills or even none at all.

alternate between big fills and small fills, use them sparingly

PRACTICE ROOM

Time for the right hand to take center stage (if you are a right-handed guitar player).

Mike Palmisano shows you how to play guitar like a drummer.

Find a Funklet beat you like.

A Side Note

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Flip through the Quizlet on Rhythm Terminology flashcards a couple times.

Image Metric levels from the Wikimedia Commons

I thought of some music ideas.

Protagonist: me

Antagonist: the world (time, expectations, myself)

Sub-themes: corporatism, anxiety/bipolar, chasing worries, where I am vs. where I think I am

“Vomiting on my Sweet Sixteen

and time is running out

but I can’t do anything

too slow, too fast

can’t bring out the best in me”

– Hem, after hearing about my idea.

STUDIO

CONTROL ROOM

Funklet is back!

Import it into Soundtrap.

Record a rhythmic guitar strumming pattern over the beat.

Watch Mr. Le Duc’s Tutorial for Exporting and Importing MIDI Files with Funklet, HookLab, and Soundtrap, if you get stuck with any of these steps.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Funklet is pretty cool- I found myself putting a beat on loop and leaving my blog post to go chat with my friends. I also learned how beats work together to create rhythm, which is something I had no exposure until now. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *